Cycling, huh?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Brittany

Thought I'd finally sign up on a forum for cycling. It seems frequently that I have an issue that I need to discuss with others, but don't seem to get around to doing. So I'll start here and make my introduction.

Hi!

My name is Brittany. I'm a 19 year old student from the South of England. I ride pretty much everywhere, normally covering 30-40 miles per week on my bike.

I love cycling, and I'm in good shape from all the cycling I've done in the last year. Most of the time, I'm a bit more speedy than the majority of road cyclists I see, but my uphill technique is absolutely awful. (This is exemplary when I follow somebody who is clearly experienced, as I'm normally able to keep close til they head uphill.) I'd love to learn to train this.

I'm inexperienced as a road user in general, so I occasionally make mistakes. And of course, I am often the subject of 'mistakes' fellow road users make. I also struggle with eyesight issues when it comes to colour. Generally, this is of no issue at all, until ambulances pass, at which point I am practically blind as to their signals. I'd love to figure out a bit more about keeping myself away from harm through my own actions and preempting those of others.

Among my plans are a two day cycle to cover 150 miles in December and an eventual marathon once I have trained enough. My routes are undecided.

Nice to meet you all. Hope you're all having a nice day. :smile:

skudupnorth

Cycling Skoda lover
Welcome to the site Brittany,i am sure you will get all the help you need off the gang on here so do not feel shy to ask questions,we are all friendly and some are even sane :wacko:

ianjmcd

Über Member
welcome to the forum brittany if you google "uphill training techniques" there is quite a bit of info out there

Pat "5mph"

A kilogrammicaly challenged woman
:welcome: to cycle chat, Brittany, you will find a lot of great cycling tips here!