Cycling shorts

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Mazzin

I'm a newbie to cycling and have a few questions about cycling shorts.

Firstly, are all shorts include the Lycra variety generally designed to be worn without underwear? Or do you get some shorts which are designed to be worn with underwear?

Secondly, why are they all so expensive?

Thirdly, any particular brands you suggest?

Finally, is the objective of a dedicated cycling short solely to improve comfort?

ScotiaLass

Guru
Hiya
yes, always without underwear!
Expensive...some aren't, but to be honest buy the best you can afford. The more expensive ones ARE better and use better materials and are better constructed.
Brands...I can't really advise. I don't ride huge distances right now and am happy with my Tenn undershorts and Tenn baggies (I ride a MTB).
Comfort yes, but also some of the better engineered ones are designed to improve performance using compression etc.

I'm sure you'll get lots of replies with better explanations!

Last edited:

Broadside

Guru
I'm a newbie to cycling and have a few questions about cycling shorts.

Firstly, are all shorts include the Lycra variety generally designed to be worn without underwear? Or do you get some shorts which are designed to be worn with underwear?

Secondly, why are they all so expensive?

Thirdly, any particular brands you suggest?

Finally, is the objective of a dedicated cycling short solely to improve comfort?
To answer your 4 questions:

1: they are designed to be worn without underwear, the pad in the shorts needs to be against the skin

2: there are lots of expensive shorts but also lots of cheap. I favour the better quality shorts because they are more comfortable but you can easily pick a pair up for £20