Headset cartridge bearing

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

kiwifruit

Über Member
Hi can anyone give me some advice?. I brought myself a bike work stand and I service my Canyon Endurace 6.0 AL 2015
headset for the first time. The bearing were knackered, as I didn't know what headset or size bearing it is I email Canyon. Canyon email back saying is an Tange IS22ae-sct headset and the bearing size IS41/IS41. Upon this information I took this to my local LBS with the cartridge bearings, they sold me an Cane Creek 10-zs44 headset they said just use the bearings. Got home put the new bearings on but there's a small gap between the fork and head tube. Not convince, I put the original bearings back on (no gap). Went back to the LBS with bike, they said that's what Cane Creek suggested and it should fit. The LBS mechanic came over and said its fine is only a small gap. As a novice I took there advice. But I still not convince I order some bearings from Chain Reaction Cane Creek cartridge bearing S2/S3/ZS2/IS2 1.1/8 bearings IS41,put these on still the same small gap between fork and head tube (roughly 2mm). I now ordered an Cane Creek 40 series IS41 headset as Cane Creek website suggested. Do I just used the bearings or change the whole headset? If i change the whole headset will I need to put a new crown race on, as my fork is built in I think or will I have the some problems.

The first image is the original bearings and the second is from the bearing from the Cane Creek 10-zs44 headset.

IMG_20151207_143128807_HDR.jpg IMG_20151207_143003266_HDR.jpg
Advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

Last edited:

ayceejay

Guru
There is a crown race at the top of the forks where your gap is, check this and replace if damaged or in any way different from your collection of new stuff

OP
OP
kiwifruit

kiwifruit

Über Member