Just ONE Brake ; Front Brake Only ; Back Brake Missing / Disengaged = Illegal ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Hornchurch

'

This MAY cause some controversy - Not my intention - But I'd like to ask fellow-forumites.....

What's your stance on using "Front Brake Only" or, even the general-outlook of what I'm about to post, at speeds of "sub 15-mph"

I've just answered a lass named Helen (on another forum), who stated,

"It's Illegal to have Front Brake Only here, in the U.K" = Is this true ?

BTW ; Am NOT advocating it, just, merely curious !

Whilst some (here), may/might be mortified by my response, I gave my reasonings

I've been cycling since 1968, owned a 26in 'Racer' (Road Bike) since 1972 - Been a professional M/cycle instructor since 1996 - (Issuing CBT & DAS courses)

So, have been around for a while & a few "hundered thousand miles", yet, my views MIGHT cause howls of derision !

Bear in mind I'm NO 'spring-chicken' & majoritively, my cycling speeds ARE around 12mph to 15mph 'max' - (So, NOT your speed, lads/lasses !)

>>>>>>>>>> Here was my reply, even "if" it doesn't match the views of your own, as YOUR circumstances, differ from mine....

"Is having the back-brake NOT engaged (to be used), Illegal, or NOT ?" - Here's what I wrote/replied.....

Also remember that it's legal in the Netherlands just to have one brake

But that would be illegal here so choose carefully if you go the Dutch route.

Is that really truthfully so ? (BTW, "loving" your avatar, Helen !)

Can anyone actually prove it AND actually point to me, where it says that, legally, in print ?

Jamie Whitham
was a famous Yorkshire British Motorcycle Champion during the late 1980's & early 1990's

He also ended-up "doing the commentary" on the British rounds, seen on the well-known channel, "I.T.V"

Back in the days when HE was a 'Champion Racer', he ONLY ever used to use the front-brakes (twin-discs)