Road rider newb

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Veganpower

Hello everyone.

I've not been on a bike for a few years and never a road bike but that will all change once I know what bike to get!

I've been inspired by Harley Johnstone AKA Durianrider to get into cycling. I'm interested in ditching the car and commuting on a bike, plus I'm interested in using cycling to improve my fitness so I can do my next half marathon in under 2 hours (That may sound like an easy target but I'm carrying far too much weight). ha ha I hear you say, an over weight vegan!!!!!! lol. yes, but I'm new to the Vegan Lifestyle so give it a few months lol.

I almost went for it and ordered this http://www.rutlandcycling.com/108684/products/giant-tcr-sl-1-2013-road-bike.aspx reason being that I've heard good things about Giant and I thought a deal like that wouldn't come up again any time soon, but I decided that was too much of an investment for me to make based on it being a good deal!

Anyway, I'm contemplating getting a Carrra Zelos but waiting for Halfords to do another 10% online orders. I've read mixed reviews but the plan was that it would be my 'winter bike'. I'm happy to receive suggestions.

Thanks in advance for the tips, help, banter and general comradery.

young Ed

Veteran
hi there plenty of road cyclists and commuters on here
the 2 above bikes are very different geometry wise and so comfort and ride experience wise witthe giant being raceier and the carrera being a bit more relaxed so it depends on what you want
what is your upper pricer limit considering the giant is a grand on offer and the carrera is £269 more than half price and you are still waiting for a 10% offer
i would go for the carrera personally if i were you due to the lower price if you decide you don't like cycling then you haven't parted with anywhere near as much cash considering if you do get into it you can always sell it or keep it and buy the giant or similar later