Self-taught bike mechanic

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

gbb

Legendary Member
Ive had a good example today of how it can go wrong for people who 'think' they know how to do things but actually dont 'think' at all :biggrin:

Some of the guys will watch me clean and service a machine...and part of it is done exceedingly carefully with a pressure washer..taking care to cover all the electronics.

'I can do that' they think when just cleaning the machines...and even tho i've told them not to...and one guy blew a £600 box of electronics...
Do they learn. No :smile:
Do they carry on oblivious, despite previous fcukups...Yes

Yesterday, one guy took it on himself to clean all the machines. This mornings tally out of 10 machines on startup...
1 with a blown box of electronics (£350)
1 with a blown thermal head (£130)
1 that keeps tripping out. Narrowed it down to blown heaters (maybe £250)
1 that started ok, then smoke poured out. Transformers gone (maybe £120). Even then, ive got to find out what caused the transformer to go, probable short somewhere.
1 that just refuses to even start up....havnt even got to that one yet.

Around £1000 worth of damage :biggrin: ,1 hours loss of production, hours of my time putting it all right.....i think he's got it now.

The thing is, he's typical of many of the immigrant labour personell we have. They come from a 'must be able to fix it yourself' background...their mentality is not to be afraid of having a go, because back home, they have to .
So, they all think they know how to do it...but its the same with all nationalities...many dont engage the gray matter before proceeding.

Cubist said: