Stolen bikes in Islington

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

jp0327

HI there,

I'm a newbie!

I had my bike stolen on the weekend. And not being the type of person that just lets it slide, I did some investigation.

I found my bike on Gumtree. When I searched this guys number, it has come up with 3 other ads for bikes all in North London, same mobile, different names.

I called to ask him if I could come and have a look at the bike, and he said that he would only meet me in central London.

I've reported this all to the police. But because I don't have my bikes serial number, they don't want to hear my story.

Any ideas what to do next? I'm adamant this bike is mine.

I'm not really up for meeting this guy and getting it back. He obviously does this often and he would know where I live.

I'm just so livid that someone has done this. It's not about the bike, but the principle. Any ideas?

CopperBrompton

Bicycle: a means of transport between cake-stops
Take a few friends. If you can positively identify it, the thief is not going to want any hassle. If he can lose the bike and otherwise walk away, he'll be happy.

That wouldn't be an ideal outcome, but better than him selling your bike.

OP
OP
J

jp0327

Hmmm I've thought about that, but he knows where I live. He stole it from outside my door.. Could be a bit risky if he got nasty..

Tomorrow i'm going to give all this evidence to the cops and I hope they do something. If not, I'm gonna be rather despondent about the whole thing. I've got a few detailed photo's of my bike. Retails at £320 its virtually new and he is selling it for £150. Along with 3 other bikes valued at between £150 and £300.

summerdays

Cycling in the sun
Are you insured? - If so and the police won't do anything that's probably the easiest route.