The Chemo Effect ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

xxDarkRiderxx

Veteran
It is over a year now since my BMT (Bone Marrow Transplant) and other chemo related treatment that is required to prepare your body for the BMT and other cancer related issues.

I started riding again April/May this year with very short rides and eventually built up enough courage to rejoin the cycling club that I had been a part of before my cancer treatment. Now I was a keen cyclist before and did find my first club run after treatment hard, even though this was with the steady group (which I always ride with), which average about 12/15Mph

Prior to my illness I weighed 13.5Stones (85kg) now I weigh 10.7Stones (67Kg). After 13+ chemo cycles I would have thought the toxic damage done to my heart lungs would mean that I would never regain a level of fitness I once had. I actually now feel stronger and don't fatigue like I used during long rides of 2 hours or more like I used to. Ok, so the benefit of dropping 2+ stones obviously is helping, but I am so enjoying the cycling more than I did before and the hills are so easy now. Is dropping so much weight so effective? or is there a chemo effect?

Mrs M

Guru
Don't know about any chemo effect but well done on your recovery and regaining fitness. :smile::smile::bicycle:

13 rider

Guru
What a heart warming story about your recovery . Power to weight , less weight you need less power for same results so even though you will have lost power your lower weight compensates . You have probably changed your mental outlook after a scare so you will enjoy things more . Well done and keep on enjoying your riding .

There is a lot of evidence, and also personal anecdata that the attitude of the individual is as (if not more) important than the treatments themselves

Congratulations o your success and Chapeau to your personal achievements

Wafer

Veteran