What a pain in the arms

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

fatblokish

Guru
Well, hands really.

I've been putting up with it for about three years and procrastination hasn't served me well.

After a half hour or so on the summer bike I develop a dull ache across the width of my palms and down toward my wrists, inevitably rougher surfaces accelerate the discomfort. As I am no racing whippet and carry a fair bit of reserve energy supplies, my preference for touring is comfort over speed and I never use the drops unless going downhill and need a bit more braking reassurance than offered by just using the hoods. After a couple of hours I find using the chainset STi shifter to change up a ring quite difficult.

Whilst at the LBS doing a bit of shopping I mentioned this to one of the guys who recommended a change of handlebar and a shorter stem too. The summer bike I built up from scratch back in 2001 with handlebars that are 26.0mm diameter and I understand the standard is now a bit different.

My winter bike has a shorter reach to the bars from the nose of the saddle by some 50mm and to the hoods by 80mm; I feel no pain on this.

What I would like to do is to change the stem to one of a shorter reach (the present stem is labelled 100mm) that rises upwards a bit (reducing aero but increasing thigh to belly clearance :smile: ) and to change the bars to something more comfy, though still drops. I presently have bars that sweep forward but have heard mention of compact and anatomical though these mean nothing to me.

Anyway, could you good folks recommend me new bars and stem (with space for bar bag mount and garmin mount) and whether I should change the cables and bar tape at the same time?
IMAG0324.jpg

ta

Sharky

Guru