Where have you come from?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Fnaar

Smutmaster General
i.e. what did your ancestors do? (addendum to what do you do for a living?) post
My paternal grandfather was a sewage worker in Dublin, his wife was a housewife who died at age 36 having had 10 children(!)
My maternal grandfather was variously a worker in a gasworks in County Cork, a navvy on roads in UK and Heathrow airport runway. His wife was a housewife who died age 85 having outlived 4 of her 9 children(!)
My parents both moved to England in the 1950s and became nurses. I am a lecturer in linguistics. :biggrin:

Bigtallfatbloke

I came from reading

My muthar's granfether was chief cuntstable of Perthshire, her fether wis chairman of the Scottish Polis federation. Ma fether's fether wis in tha war, drove the last tram in Glesgae, became a ticket inspector and was a champion lawn bowler. Their wives were wifeys.

My muther's muther's fether's fether was hung by the English for sheep stealing.

Graham O

Have got a very muddled ancestry. Most of the paternal family have been military connected, so there's been a lot of travel and deaths! The maternal family come from Portsmouth and Hampshire. Personally from Portsmouth, but the surname comes from the Scottish Borders.

No idea if he is a relation, but an Ogle was one of the men who shoved a red hot iron up Edward II's bum to kill him. The Ogle family fell out of royal favour after that!

DJ

Formerly known as djtheglove
Graham O said:
Have got a very muddled ancestry. Most of the paternal family have been military connected, so there's been a lot of travel and deaths! The maternal family come from Portsmouth and Hampshire. Personally from Portsmouth, but the surname comes from the Scottish Borders.

No idea if he is a relation, but an Ogle was one of the men who shoved a red hot iron up Edward II's bum to kill him. The Ogle family fell out of royal favour after that!