1989 Cannondale Project- ISO recommendations

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

LunaRavenclaw

IMG_8132.jpeg

Hi everyone! I just joined this forum to connect with folks that know more than me! Meet my 1989 Cannondale 3.0. It’s a MTB that I intend to use as mostly a recreational road bike, but with the ability to go on gravel paths… I believe they call it “gravel bike”? I’m total newb. I’m very handy and mechanically inclined so I thought I’d see about some diy upgrades? The thing I want the most from a bike is its ability to climb hills. I’d also love to put a drop bar on it but I know that involves the gearset as well. I believe it’s a 21 speed? There’s 7 cogs in the back and 3 in the front.. but the biggest cog looks kinda small.

Yes I know, probably much easier and cheaper to buy a gravel bike (which is not cheap lol) but I want a project so I can learn…cause I learn by doing.

Having said that, looking for thoughts on what upgrades to prioritise? Should I change the gearset? I assume the gear size/ratio would affect bill climbing ability?
IMG_8137.jpeg

IMG_8136.jpeg

IMG_8135.jpeg

IMG_8133.jpeg

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Hello and :welcome: to the forum.

Would make nice project. You could probably leave the gears or change them to nine speed to bring them up to date a bit but this would involve changing the rear wheel or the hub at least as you have a freewheel at the moment and 9 would be a cassette. Depends how far you want to go. Here's a good video on how to do it by RJ:

View: https://youtu.be/f1vSHauv1VY?si=SbewX-MeUPRN0T7-

Last edited:
That's a truly iconic machine.

Gear upgrades would be both tricky and expensive and they'd destroy its originality. But you did ask so here you go: