5 days 400 km cycle in 10 weeks!! training plan advice....

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Puffin

Hi all,
i am training for a 400km cycle ride which i am doing for charity in 10 weeks (eek!) and i wanted to ask about training.

So i am moderately fit, I have been doing spin classes 1 or 2 times a week for 6 months or so.
However do to various things outside of my control i am only just starting to knuckle down to the real training on my bike. Its 10 weeks until I go so im starting to get really nervous......

I have a 20 mile round commute to work, and I was hoping to use that as part of my training. I wonder if you guys could let me know how many miles per week you do before you go on a tour to prepare? Is 100 miles a week too much? Im worried about burning out if i attempt to commute in every day!!

Also do you guys take any recovery suppliments? Ive heard good stuff about endurox R4?

Any advice would be greatly received!!!

Cheers :smile:

Build up and taper off.

first couple of weeks commute every other day and a longer ride on a sunday, build up to commuting every day and to a 100km ride on a Sunday. couple of weeks before drop back to a shorter ride on the Sunday and the week before don't commute the wed/thurs/fri. If the route you aretaking for the 400 is hilly, make sure you include hills on your Sunday Jolly.

MickeyBlueEyes

Eat, Sleep, Ride, Repeat.
I don't know what it is, but there's something that says you're a determined person from the way I read your post.
100 miles a week should see you right for commuting, if you have the chance to extend this then do so maybe a couple of times a week.
Recovery supplements ? Not for me personally. A good stretch, a pint of milk and some decent food sorts me out.
Good luck with your event ! Hope you enjoy it !

Ben M

80km a day for 5 days isn't that challenging for someone who is fit.