A beginners training plan

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Jayne Raynor

Hi all

Can anyone recommend a sensible training plan that will help me increase my strength over time please. I am a beginner and currently ride every weekend covering approx 20 miles. Now the better weather is here (just) I'm trying to get out on the two days I work from home :whistle: to cover about 15 miles each ride so that my weekly quota is 50 miles and eventually increase the weekend distance. It's not all about distance though so what sort of things could I be doing during my ride to help me increase my strength and stamina and what sort of things could I be monitoring to be able to measure my progress apart from distance.

I suppose my aim would be to enter at least one sportive this year but haven't decided the distance and another aim would be to beat my husband up a hill - any hill!

In case it's needed I'm 5ft 8' and 10.5 stone, female.

Thank you

pepecat

Hello

Another female beginner (ish) here.....
Seeing as it's not all about distance, I would add some hills in - perhaps on the shorter rides on the other two days you can go out (apart from weekends). They'll help strength / stamina. Keep in a lowish gear, keep your cadence (pedalling rate) high and try not to stand up. Your thighs will burn like hell, but i am told that this helps (the low gear / high cadence I mean). :rolleyes:

I would also try and increase your distances at the weekends too, if you can handle 20 miles ok, try 25, or 30 and see how you get on. I did a 30 mile ride for the British Heart Foundation last Oct, and the longest i'd ridden before that was only 20 miles. It was fine - thankfully not a hilly course, so that helped.
This summer i'm doing the Dartmoor Classic - 65 miles of hell up and down.....