A little stub on my speedster s20

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bikerchippy

Hey i have just recently got a scott speedster and as this is my first road bike and i love it, i just wanna go out on it all the time.

Theirs 2 things i have questions with,

1. has anyone got any tips/technique on using the gears as when i hit a hill i almost come to a stand still even if im in the lowest gear and peddaling like a mad man, do u think i just need to build strength up or am i doing something wrong.

2. On the rear fork just above the gear set theirs a little stub/rivet thing, what is it for? i just cant work it out.

I am also attempting another 75 mile charity ride this year, i done it 2 years ago on a moutain bike and i loved it, im hoping it will be easier with this new bike :biggrin: what would ppl recommend for my trainning as regards to building stamina up and strength.

PS im new to using the clips on the shoes and surprisingly have picked it up quickly :laugh: i wanna go riding now but it raining :biggrin:

Thanks for all ur help, what a great forum :ohmy:

adscrim

Veteran
1. Is it a double or a triple? When you're coming to a standstill is it because you can pedal no further or is it because you're spinning away but moving slowly? If it's the former, as with most things, the more you do the easier it gets. Try to anticipate hills and changing so that you have a better chance at keeping your momentum up.

2. Sounds like a chain hanger. When the rear wheel is off you can hang the chain on here to keep things a little more tidy.

PS you can cycle in the rain too!

OP
OP
B

bikerchippy