Advice on 2009 Specialized FSR XC Comp

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

marshyrob

Im Rob and i thought id say a quick hi to everyone.

I am new to biking as such but did loads when i was younger, BMX mainly.
Really love riding and recently went on a XC with a mate on a borrowed pile of rubbish and just got that bug back. Decided to treat myself to a decent bike and use it for XC and maybe the odd road session to work now and again. After much research and deliberation ive bought a 2009 Specialized FSR XC Comp.

Took it for a ride yesterday for the first time and its a really awsome bike from my point of view. I love it!

Just wondered if there is anything that peeps think i should definetely upgrade as im going to get serious into the XC/MTB. I bought this particular bike as i hoped i didnt have to upgrade too much but any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Rob

dodgy

Don't upgrade anything unless it's broke, put the cash away for 3 years time when you can upgrade the whole bike. I have a Specialized Stumpjumer FSR 120 pro (2005 model) and it hasn't required any upgrades and yours won't either unless you like spending money :evil:

dave.

OP
OP
M

marshyrob

Ok thats sound advice just was not sure if anyone would say that a particular part was not upto the demands of XC. Its good to know that i have a decent bike that can go for a few years without any uneccesary upgrades.

Thanks Guys

Got to take it out on the trails and give it a real tryout in the next few days!

maurice

Only thing you might want to change is the pedals. Either spd's or grippier flats.

I would leave this decision for a bit though, get used to the bike first.

GilesM

Legendary Member