Advice on getting ill right before a race - help?!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

carolinefaz

Hi,

I am new to cycling and will be doing a 100k (64 miles ish) in 2.5 weeks time for a fundraiser. I have a few questions I thought someone with a bit of experience might possibly help me with?!

I have been ill with a bug for a week now so haven't been able to train - I was doing quite well but haven't gone further than just over 30 miles. I'm not sure how to continue with my training now as am worried I have lost momentum - any advice?

Also - I have just been wearing trainers but keep getting tingly feet. Def not the trainers as I am trained in fitting - but am wondering about clip ins or those ones you just pop your toes into - or is it too close to switch now?

It isn't a race as such - I would just like to finish in one piece - ideally in less than 8 hours before the morning rush hour.

Any advice much appreciated

Thanks
Caroline

Globalti

Legendary Member
Don't worry about taking a week off, you will recover quickly once you're over the bug. But don't do anything for the three days before the ride; your body needs time to rebuild after exercise.

Tingly feet is a problem for many cyclists and cycling-specific shoes with rigid soles might help to spread the load away from the balls of your feet. However this is a big move forward in terms of your cycling experience and kit and you need time to try different shoes then decide on a clip system. Have a look at some Shimano SPD shoes, they are pretty comfortable and you could start with your existing flat pedals then fit the SPD cleats later. With SPDs the cleat is recessed into the sole so you can walk easily.

The best advice I can give for your 64 miler is: (assuming you're riding a mountain bike) fit some narrow smooth tyres and pump them up as hard as possible. Take some energy bars as well.

4F

Active member of Helmets Are Sh*t Lobby