Advice to new commuter please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

CommuterBen

Regular
Now i'm sure there are many of these threads floating about and for that I am sorry but I needed some advice tailored to myself and after a few hours of trawling I'm still non the wiser!

I have been looking for a road bike to commute to University on fr around 4 weeks now and am strugling badly. I am 26 and pretty un-fit so I thought why the hell not commute to Uni and my part time job; saving money and losing weight at the same time. Being a student I am pretty poor and I have a rather short attention span so am not wanting to spend money on something that I may get bored of within a few weeks which will then go rusty in the shed. I shall be doing around 20 miles a day 3 days a week boarding a train and there are a few steep hills in my commute.

At the moment I am looking at around £200 hence why I have been looking for so long. Having been looking for a decent second hand bike for so long and not finding anything in my not so local area or anything in my prce range I have taken to the idea of getting a cheap, new, low quality bike to a) figure out if I will continue my quest to save money and weight an b) Get a taste for cycling with the plan to upgrade in Septmeber when I get a proper student loan.

So basically what I'm saying is:
a)Please don't say "don't buy new by used"
b)Don't try to put me off a very cheap bike as it is what I am going for regardless

Also without clogging up the forum with my noob posts I have been racking my brains for accessories I will be needing my list so far comprises of:
  • helmet
  • thick lock
  • clothing
  • lights
  • tool kit and mountable pump (spare inner tube)
  • mudguards
  • computer
  • padding for carrying
Any other help/info or deals would be greatly welcomed! Thanks for reading

Ben.

Supersuperleeds

Legendary Member