All new to this

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Rafreg

Hey all!

Just a quick note to say hello. Name's Gregg and in a week or so I will be cycling to work 5 days a week. As I'm new to cycling I thought joining a forum would be a good idea.

Many thanks

Gregg

Angelfishsolo

A Velocipedian
Hello Greg and :welcome: to the forum. Enjoy your riding and I hope this site will aid you along your way :smile:
Hey all!

Just a quick note to say hello. Name's Gregg and in a week or so I will be cycling to work 5 days a week. As I'm new to cycling I thought joining a forum would be a good idea.

Many thanks

Gregg

Paulus

Started young, and still going.
Welcome Gregg, everything you need to know, and much more that you don't is available on the forum. Don't be afraid to ask.

OP
OP
R

Rafreg

I need to start off by finding the right bike! I am commuting to work 5 days a week. Mainly road with occasional pathway/trail. Hybrid or flat bar road bike. I have no idea

Banjo

Fuelled with Jelly Babies
Welcome Rafreg

Any bike can be ok ideally you want one that can take a rack and panniers.

A back pack makes you hot and sweaty and The bike feels better with the weight lower down,

how far is your commute ?

coffeejo

Ælfrēd
Hello and welcome from Somerset
wave.gif

OP
OP
R

Rafreg

I don't think I will carry anything into work as I can store all at work including my work clothes, having said that you never know. My commute is 28 miles all-round trip.

Paulus

Started young, and still going.
A reasonable hybrid would seem to be the job for you. It will have clearences for mudguards which are essential in winter and rainy days, and you can fit a rack as well to carry stuff on. Do you have a price range?

OP
OP
R

Rafreg

Max would be say £500! I work for a large company and for some reason they don't do any cycle to work scheme which is annoying!

lulubel

Über Member