Almost complete beginner cycling France

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Joel

So I'm planning on touring in France for July and maybe a bit of August. I'm 22, and have never toured before. What I have done in the last few months is London to Brighton and London to Oxford - which seems very insignificant compared to the idea of a month or so in France.

Very much in the 'conceptual stage' here, but my rough plan is to cycle to Dover or maybe Portsmouth then going to the Pyrenees, up again towards the German/Swiss border then back towards the manche for the triumphant homecoming (something like that). Aside from that I really have no idea what to expect apart from probably a lot of crying and leg pain.

I would be very grateful for any general tips particularly on basic preparation for someone who's never toured before as well as what to expect generally. Also any info about cycling in France would be useful, although I'm aware there's loads on this topic already online.

Thanks!

Ian Cooper

Expat Yorkshireman
You shouldn't have much pain unless you really plan on pushing yourself hard. I was 22 when I spent a year cycling around Europe - staying at Youth Hostels - and the only training I did was a 3.5 mile commute for 4 years (not training per-se - just commuting to work). My advice - stop whenever you're tired, take some time to look around and take in the sights (and not at a run with a camera, like one fellow I met did), don't have a rigid plan, don't carry too much cash, make sure you have a way to get your money securely and have a back-up source of funding in case everything goes wrong.

Ian Cooper

Expat Yorkshireman
Oh, and if you're heading to the Pyrenees and the German-Swiss border, don't miss Carcassonne and try to visit Interlaken. Trust me on these.

The Carcassonne Youth Hostel is in the old city - you should try to stay there. Interlaken has the famous Balmers Hostel - definitely worth a visit.

OP
OP
J

Joel