Arch of York..was this you?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

wafflycat

abchandler said:
Can we make this 'can have' please? We don't all...

Fairy Nuff

Arch

Married to Night Train
Hilldodger said:
Arch, why don't you tell your story of falling upsidedown in a ditch and having to be rescued:evil::biggrin:

Oh, you think anyone will want to hear it?

Ok.

I was out on a group ride, and lagging a bit, because it had got hilly. And hot, so I wanted to stop and take my long sleeved top off. I pulled over to the side of the country lane, and slowed, preparatory to stopping. Now, I have short legs, and generally need to come off the saddle to put a foot down, but I could see that the grass verge was quite high, like a kerb, so I didn't bother, I just put a foot out and leaned. And leaned. It wasn't a high verge, it was a low verge, lower than the tarmac, with long grass. I kept leaning until my foot hit bottom and I did a complete 180 degree roll over, slithering into the ditch under the hedge, coming to rest upside down the top of my head in a small puddle, still 'on' the bike, feet on pedals, hands on bars, wheels spinning slightly.

Luckily, I wasn't at the very back of the ride, and the two dawdlers behind me (one of whom was my ex-employer!) were able to pull me out, because for a moment I was quite unable to move, wedged in.

Most days, I look like I've been dragged through a hedge backwards, that day I even had the leaves in my hair to prove it.

Looking back, I so wish someone had got it on video. Even I laughed about it, once I was upright again.

Arch said:
Oh, you think anyone will want to hear it?

Ok.