Best value road bike under £2,000 - advice please !

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Kevin1708

Hi Guys . . . as you mayknow I am new to this and looking to move from my Specialized Hybrid to adedicated road bike – it is a mine field out there (for the uninitiated atleast . . .) I think it is going to be the Pinarello FP2 as I am told that fora road bike of this specification £2,000 is a good price . . . But, I would appreciateany advice. Cheers

gaz

Cycle Camera TV
You are paying a lot of money for the brand when you get a pinarello.
Go for a lesser brand like focus but it's still a very good bike and you get better components for £500 less.
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/focus-cayo-20-ultegra-compact-2011/

+1 for Focus. If value for money is important, (and it is in your title after all), then Focus are pretty much unbeatable.

The range seems to have dwindled lately, Focus still make a good range but Wiggle don't seem to carry them.

The full range of Focus bikes can be viewed HERE

When I bought a Focus Cayo Pro in '99 it was £2100 with full Dura-Ace 7900, and to get the same spec in a Scott or Spesh for example, (to name just 2 of the big boys), wouldn't have given me any change from at least £3k.

The Cayo Pro now seems to have been replaced with the Izalco Pro Dura-Ace

I no longer ride a Focus but that's purely for personal reasons, Wiggle's service is very good and Focus' customer service is very good too.

If you want to stand out a bit, (although they are far more popular these days), and you don't want to ride the same bike you see virtually everyone else riding, get a Focus.