BHF - Manchester to Blackpool Overnight 5/6th Oct 2019

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

NickWi

Guru
Hi All,
Anyone else doing the above ride? Plus, a few questions to those that have done it before as I can see there have been a couple of post about previous events.

i. BHF offer a coach service & bike transportation service. The BHF blurb says your bike will be transported on a separate lorry and they'll provide protective wrapping for your bike and it's up to you to ensure it's protected. That kind of sounds to me they're just stacked one against the next rather than secured in proper bike racks. Anyone used it and if so any comments?

ii. What facilities are there at either end? By the sounds of it there might be some hanging around involved and it's both the middle of the night and October.

iii. Similarly, what about food & drink and the quality of the pit stops?

iv. Actually riding through the night. I've never done an overnight ride before and whilst the actual ride, distance and riding in the dark bit doesn't bother me, I've never ridden a 2 o'clock in the morning. I presume caffine will become my newest friend! Any tips from seasoned Dunwich Dynamo pros?

Any other tips, comments or experiences from those that have done this in the past would be gratefully appreciated.

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
1. Yes, they will be stacked against each other - this is a BHF ride !

2. You may be able to buy food from traders who are likely to be at the finish.

3. Take your own or cash - only get water supplied on the BHF Manchester 100.

Bazzer

Setting the controls for the heart of the sun.
I haven't done this ride, but the route looks far easier that the Fridays ride from Manchester to Blackpool. A handful of tips from me;