Bike Advice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

aquilagb

Hello,

I am a newbie to road riding and currently have a £700 Cycle2Work voucher to spend on a bike in Halfords. There are two main options I am considering and would appreciate peoples thoughts on them.

1. Boardman Road Comp - At £700 I will use the full value of my voucher.

2. Carrera Vanquish - Now reduced from £600 to £450!! Could buy bike and equipment (pedals, shoes, closthing etc)

From what I have read, the Boardman does clearly seem like the better bike but the Carrera seems like it's a steel at £450. I will mainly be using the bike for work cycling (20'ish mile each way) and I am also possibly doing the JOGLE next year. Advice/thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks.

cyberknight

As long as I breathe, I attack.
Hello,

I am a newbie to road riding and currently have a £700 Cycle2Work voucher to spend on a bike in Halfords. There are two main options I am considering and would appreciate peoples thoughts on them.

1. Boardman Road Comp - At £700 I will use the full value of my voucher.

2. Carrera Vanquish - Now reduced from £600 to £450!! Could buy bike and equipment (pedals, shoes, closthing etc)

From what I have read, the Boardman does clearly seem like the better bike but the Carrera seems like it's a steel at £450. I will mainly be using the bike for work cycling (20'ish mile each way) and I am also possibly doing the JOGLE next year. Advice/thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks.

I have ridden a vanquish and for the money they are a nice bike but tbh i would be tempted to get the boardman and start hinting at people for Christmas for the rest of your kit,once you have the basics you can build up the rest of your kit over time .
If you get the carrera you are kind of stuck with it and it would probably cost a lot more to bring it up to a similar specification as the boardman.

I have just read the spec`s on both , if you can get the boardman !!

sandman77