Bike Carriers

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Charlie French

hello all

I am a student at Northumbria University studying Transport design. For our final project we have been set the task of designing a new cycle carrier for on cars

I would be greatful of any insight people could give of experiences you have had in this area, and if it is possible, email me so i may send you a short questionaire to complete.

Any information would be a great help

thanks

charlie french

c.french91@btinternet.com
charlie.french@northumbria.ac.uk

summerdays

Cycling in the sun
I'll post my answers here if that's OK... since you put up the doc...
Name: Summerdays
Age Group: 41-50
Ride a bike: 4-6 days a week
Reason: commute, Family activity, shopping (you didn't put that one on)
Own a car: Yes
Transport bike by car: Rarely I would say
What accessories: Tow bar mounted rack
What issues do you face transporting the bike:
Well family of 5 - and only 4 fit on the rack so the smallest for now goes in the car - so we don't take the bikes on holiday with us because then the inside is full. It takes a long time fitting on the rack and putting all the bikes on, doing up all those little straps for the tyres, putting in pipe insulation between bikes to stop them rubbing against each other, getting them to fit beside each other (handlebars/seat heights etc). Then when you get to the other end you have to find somewhere to park that allows you to have an extra couple of feet sticking off the back of the car. Basically its a lot of effort so we don't do it very often.

The questionnaire is displaying very oddly in OpenOffice so I'll follow Summerdays an post here
Name: Piemaster
Ride a bike: 2-4 days a week
Reason: hobby, fitness,Family activity, shopping (you didn't put that one on)
Transport bike by car: Rarely I would say
What accessories: Tow bar mounted rack