Bike is going too fast for me.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Im a total novice to bike riding, and Im 56 years old. Hubby brought me home a bike yesterday and whilst I was able to get on it and ride it allbeit extreemly wobbly, I felt very unsafe as I honestly felt like I was doing 90 miles an hour. It felt like even the tiniest touch of the pedals seemed to get it whizzing along. This bike seems to go so flippin fast all on its own. How can that be?

So can someone tell me how to make this bike, which has 21 gears on it !!! tell me what gears I should be in to make me feel like I have a bit more control of the bike. I would like to be able to pedal steadily and yet not be 'doing a ton' at the same time.

Your all probably thinking what a wally I am, but Im not going to let this thing beat me. I rode as a kid, and just thought it would all come flooding back so easily, but this bike does not seem like my bike was when I was a kid, this bike seems to have a mind of its own. Help.

rich p

ridiculous old lush
It's just a question of getting used to it. I went on my mountain bike for the first time in a year the other day and felt decidedly nervous for a while. As MrP says, find a flattraffic free area to practice pedalling at a rate you feel comfortable with, turning the handlebars, leaning over into bends and applying the brakes smoothly.
Most of us on this forum would quite like to go faster without effort so you've nothing to worry about in the long run!

domtyler

Über Member
You could let some air out of the tyres Cameo. On the side of the tyre should be a range of pressures, e.g. 75-90 psi. Make sure they are at the lowest pressure indicated for your tyres. It will make the ride more comfortable too.

Paulus

Started young, and still going.