Bleed fail

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

gil goshen

Hi there,

I recently started experimenting with fixing my bike on my own. I tried to bleed my hydraulic breaks on my own, and I thought I did everything by the book, but when I closed the screw that can be seen in the video, it spits out the oil every time I squeeze the breaks. I didn't know if I should just screw it stronger, and I was afraid to go any further because the screw was already a bit eaten up...

Any insights on why this has happened to me?

By the way, it has also occurred to me that maybe I should not have opened the screw at all in the first place and just tried to squeeze the oil with the syringe through the valve of the screw. As I said - this is my first time bleeding, and I could not find any info or videos with this type of screw.

Thank you!!

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-23 at 12.02.53 PM (1).jpeg

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
Hi Gil and welcome to the forum.

Glad you are trying to tackle a few bike repairs yourself, bicycles are not very complicated and with YouTube and forums etc it's often easy to learn how to do a lot of the straightforward jobs. Unfortunately, bleeding brakes seems to be one of the trickier jobs that otherwise experienced diy'rs can sometimes struggle to master.

First of all, why did you want to bleed the brakes? The mineral oil used in most hydraulic bicycle brakes has a long service life and usually doesn't need any attention unless something else is wrong, unlike the automotive DOT brake fluids used in the more unusual bike brakes which absorbs water and has to be routinely replaced as a result.