Bottom bracket

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Tcr4x4

Veteran
Please forgive the complete novice post. But I'm lost.

Recently,I've had a clicking under hard load on my specialized sectuer elite 2010 and with some investigation I've found some play in the bottom bracket. I have about 1-2mm of side to side rocking movement when holding both cranks

On the existing BB it says is bc1.37x24 road. I believe its a shimano 105 but I'm not sure.

It looks just like this from the outside, So is this all I need to buy to replace it?

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/shimano/105-5700-bottom-bracket-cups-ec023146

Or do I need this too?

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/shimano/105-bottom-bracket-ec004991

Or are both of those wrong?

Mile195

Veteran
Top one.

I changed mine the other week.

Probably british thread for your bike.

OP
OP
Tcr4x4

Tcr4x4

Veteran
Thanks, shall order one and the removal tool and give it a go.

The only other issue is one of the Allen bolts that hold the crank on is rounded off. Nothing a drill won't solve, but will need a new bolt to replace it.

Mile195

Veteran
I partially rounded one of mine off as well, but didn't keep turning. Managed to get it back out by pressing the allan key down as I turned it to force it back into what was left of the flat sides. Just went down to my LBS for replacements. They sold me a little bag with two bolts in. £1.95. I thought that was quite steep... probably won't rush back there for anything...

Cletus Van Damme

Previously known as Cheesney Hawks
Thanks, shall order one and the removal tool and give it a go.

The only other issue is one of the Allen bolts that hold the crank on is rounded off. Nothing a drill won't solve, but will need a new bolt to replace it.