Cargo cycles

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Even though it’s The Royal Parks I don’t think you’ll be going to The Tower.

Scottish Scrutineer

Über Member
Hi everyone. Listen this crazy law that cargo cycles can't go through Royal parks I'm baffled. Yes my cargo cycle has the company name on it. But I don't sell or trade in the park I use the cycle path to go through it to my destination. Anyone got any thoughts on this
Its a by-law of the Parks and it applies to any "liveried" vehicle. Many years ago I used to be a driving instructor with BSM in Edinburgh and we were not allowed to drive our cars through Holyrood Park. It has nothing to do with safety, size, or speed of vehicles.

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Its a by-law of the Parks and it applies to any "liveried" vehicle. Many years ago I used to be a driving instructor with BSM in Edinburgh and we were not allowed to drive our cars through Holyrood Park. It has nothing to do with safety, size, or speed of vehicles.
Maybe a bit electrical tape over the name and logos then?

Pale Rider

Legendary Member

The regulation applies to 'any vehicle adapted or used for the purpose of trade', excluding regulated taxis.

Enforcement tends to be based on whether the vehicle is sign written or not.

Some van drivers use clip on magnetic signs to enable them to comply.

The OP ought to be OK if he can cover the trade logos temporarily.

Brooks

Vans aren't allowed in the Royal Parks if there sign written or not and it's been that way for decades. Strange how people think they can ignore any rules if it doesn't suit them.
The parks are for recreational use and it's taken many years for bikes to gain access. Seeing families and visitors on Boris bikes enjoying the bike lanes in safety is wonderful and any change in that should be resisted.