chain alignment

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

cerenko

just fitted new components to my bike, cassette, rear mech, front mech, new bb and chain set, working smoothly but when the 8th and 9th cog and on the front small chain ring the chain rubs on the outer large chain ring, almost to the point where it moves from small to large without using the front mech, totally lost, all components shimano tiagra, any ideas.?

Steve Malkin

Veteran
I'm no expert, and I dare say others on here will be able to advise you better, but from the symptoms you describe it does sound as though your chainline is out of alignment.
You would get these symptoms if the front chain rings were too close to the frame, making the angle of the chain more extreme when running in the small front / small rear combinations.
Since you say you've changed the bottom bracket and chain set then that sounds like the most likely explanation to me.

Did you replace the bottom bracket with one of the same axle length as the previous one? a shorter axle would cause the chain rings to be closer to the frame.

In terms of sorting it out, I think the options are a BB with a longer axle length, or spacer washers between your new BB and the BB shell to make the chain rings sit further out from the frame. There may be something you can do at the rear end to correct it by bringing the cluster further inboard instead, but I don't know how you would do that, others on here may be able to advise.

Of course running in these 'extreme' gear combinations is not really recommended anyway because the bend they induce in the chain is likely to lead to high wear rate but it should be possible to get them to work without any significant rubbing if the chain line is optimal.

Best of luck in getting it sorted!

OP
OP
cerenko

cerenko