Chain wear - cassette wear

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

joggingbob

Apologies up front I am a noob to this so my questions and statements perhaps belong in the beginners section.

I checked my chain recently using a steel ruler and checking for wear along 12 links and the 'stretch' was a tad over 1/16" so i thought it needed replacing but nothing untoward. I duly purchased a chain and replaced it and the test ride revealed it was jumping a lot, (more than once per pedal revolution). As such I assume that the cassette is worn and I left it too late :biggrin:. There does appear to be some worn edges on the common gears on the cassette. I reckon I have cycled circa 4 to 4.5k miles on the chain, (the original chain). I must admit maintenance has been restricted to cleaning and oiling the chain.

So my questions:-

1) Is my assumption correct i.e. worn cassette?, (I have checked the new chain for stiff links and they seem to all move fine).
2) Can I continue to ride with the old chain whilst a new cassette is bought and find someone to fit it? (circa 75 -100 miles per week)
3) Alternatively if the cassette is worn should I leave all as in until the old chain starts jumping? (assume this would also wear the jockey wheels and front chainring).

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Worn cassette....

I'd order a new one, and just manage on the old chain until it arrives.

Not worth doing option 3 really.

OP
OP
J

joggingbob

Well the cassette has arrived and I would like to have a go and changing the cassette myself. I appreciate that I need to buy a chain whip and cassette removal lock nut, (will any SRAM tool remover also work on SRAM?). I have had a look at the bicycle tutor video and it appears straightforward but I have a few questions that someone can answer for me:-