Charity Ride

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

GarySmith21

Evening all,

As a complete newbie to cycling - excluding the years you spend on your bike as a kid - I was after some advice.

Myself and 2 friends have decided to undertake a bike ride for charity at the beginning of the summer.

The route is 260 miles long and we're planning to do it over 4 days.

We're currently debating what bikes to use. Working on the assumption that we won't be needing the bikes after the event, we need something short term.

We've looked into hiring but that leaves us nothing to train with.

We've therefore looked at buying 3 of the cheapest road bikes we can find - currently the Barracuda Cipressa - which gets slated on this forum for good reason. But will it do us for a few months training and the event itself? Also having 3 of the same should make it easier for us to maintain for the short time we have them.

What do you guys think?!!

Any help appreciated!!

I've comfortably done the same distance over 4 days on a mountain bike with semi-slicks...it's not that long, pretty much any bike would do (although a full susser might be a bad idea)

OP
OP
G

GarySmith21

Thanks punkypossum.

Have decided against the Barracuda. Now looking at either the Raleigh Airlite 100 or the Dawes Giro 200.

Alternatively, we might just get 3 second hand bikes off ebay.

postman

Legendary Member
Gary all the best for your ride.Once you have done you will have the bug.My first 'charity' ride was the Great Yorkshire Bike Ride.When it went togood old Scarborough.
When i had finished i actually cried.We had young people in wheelchairs cheering us.These were the children we were cycling for.
You will find it hard to stop doing it.Cycling is a 'drug'.

HJ

Cycling in Scotland