Chester To Holyhead

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

hardrock09

Hi,

I am looking for cycle routes to do this summer, the route which is most appealing is route 5 which is Reading To Holyhead.

I would be looking to join the route at Chester and cycle to Holyhead.

Has Anybody completed the route before... is it worth doing?

Thanks

Ben :smile:

Calabos

Hi hardrock, I've never done this route before but have decided to do it this easter weekend. I can't wait! Its gunna be amazing!

I reckon you should give it a go to. If you dun manage to do it before me. I'll post here about my experiences afterwards and you can see what you think.

Caleb

mike1026

I have travelled this route many times to Bangor, it one of the best routes in the Country.
You have two choices on leaving Chester.
Stay with 5 or take the Dee cyle path.
You can find some info and directions at www.ncr45mercianway.co.uk Likewise The Cheshire County Council web site has some info, links from the previous site.
I prefer the Dee cycle path as it is very pleasant along the Dee Estuary. Watch out for the wind direction going from Chester the prevailing wind is a head wind and can be very strong.
The signposting at Connahs Quay is not that good, after you leave the cycle path go straight across a staggered junction this is not signed here but the rest is; or simply turn right and stay on the main road till you pick up the signs again past the Technical College. On entering Flint the signing is not too bad and if you follow it you will go past Flint Castle - good views.
On leaving Flint 5 is signed up into the hills above Holywell. Stay on the main road if you want to avoid hill climbs but there is heavy traffic.