Choosing a replacement cassette

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

maccyb

Hi, question from a newbie here. I recently bought a 2008 Specialized Sirrus second hand. I believe the bike is standard spec as previous owner didnt indicate otherwise.

The cassette is knackered at the back, it has a major dent across one sprocket that i cant bend back with plyers/hammer. Im looking for a replacement, the spec says its a Shimano HG-50 8speed 12-25 range. Before I bought a new one I did a quick check of how many teeth are on the smallest and largest sprocket (I believe this is what is represented by 12-25??) only to find that the largest definitely has 24 teeth. Is there something I'm missing out here in regards to the gear range? There are none in the HG-50 range that have this combination and I cannot find any visible markings on it.

Im also unsure about the compatibility between using different cassettes, can I use a different range under the same chain/deraileur etc. Also, since Im having to replace it anyway, would it be worth considering a different brand/model under the same set up. I would be willing to replace the chain but funds are pretty limited.. this is where I have no idea with compatability.

(full spec here: http://www.evanscycles.com/products/specialized/sirrus-2008-hybrid-bike-ec001400?style=86039)

Hope this wasnt too much to take in and thanks for any help!

Bruce

downfader

extimus uero philosophus
The cassette can be replaced with a standard Tiagra 12-25:

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=1864

Mine lasted for a good 6000 or so miles in total. Yours might be a previous spec of the same cassette from a few years back, which might explain the difference.

RecordAceFromNew

Swinging Member
Hi Bruce if the right shifter is 8 speed you must get an 8 speed cassette unless you change the shifter.