Complete Newbie after advice please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

vickster

Legendary Member

SkipdiverJohn

Deplorable Brexiteer
Wicked thanks for that

Only one ive seen that can be locked within my budget would be the Trek DS 2

Other option also is buying 2nd hand

I run almost exclusively used bikes, but the difference is all mine are rigids and have less wearing parts in them. I would be extremely wary of buying anything secondhand with suspension. The suspension parts can and do fail, and often repairing or replacing those bits can cost more than the bike is worth. Therefore, from an economic point of view, the most sensible solution for an owner faced with repair bills is to punt the bike out on the secondhand market and let someone else worry about it. If you buy such a bike, you become that someone!
Anyone who salvages discarded bikes out of skips will tell you that by far the most common type to be found dumped currently are low end mountain bikes with either front suspension or full suspension. because they fail and become a maintenance moneypit. Secondhand bikes are often outstanding value, but make sure you aren't buying someone else's unwanted repair bill.

rivers

How far can I go?
At that price point I would be looking at rigid forks, not suspension. They will be heavy, cheap, and not very effective

OP
OP
S

ShaneWBA

I think its just a personal preference to wanting front suspension, Ive got a bike currently which I've not used in many years (and imagine ive outgrown now) that has no suspension, and I didnt enjoy riding it, was too stiff and tension on the wrist when hitting some bumps etc

SnoopyCycles

Regular