Complete newbie on a 2 wheel recumbent.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BlackPanther

Hyper-Fast Recumbent Riding Member.
I've just got the Strada back on the road (new gear cable came Friday, and I've upgraded the shifters to X9s while I was at it.) My Brother was down for the weekend and he desperately wanted a go, which of course I was o.k. with.....erm.:unsure:

If nothing else it shows just how quick a new rider can 'master' riding a high-racer, arguably the hardest form of 2 wheel recumbent to ride? He definitely preferred the Ice trike though.

View: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WrBlgcUCzVg

Chonker

Veteran
Great choice in music! Seemed to take to that pretty well.

What makes high racers the most difficult would you say?

arallsopp

Post of The Year 2009 winner
Thanks for sharing. My experience is that (once you're moving) high racers are at the easier end of the 'bent spectrum, as you get more time to detect and correct a wobble before you're down. Certainly the dual 26er I've been known to pootle around on pretty much handles itself without input, whilst the lower slung Furai (smaller wheels, which you sit between, rather than above) requires a much more sensitive hand and constant vigilance to keep rubber side down.

Of course, when it comes to the initial push off, the high boomed 26er does require a touch more commitment, so I can see where you're coming from.

Andy.

OP
OP
BlackPanther

BlackPanther

Hyper-Fast Recumbent Riding Member.
really enjoyed the vidio , give him a go on the trike next time !

He was on the trike when we ventured onto the roads, that was me riding the Strada on the dual carriageway......he wasn't ready!
Great choice in music! Seemed to take to that pretty well.

What makes high racers the most difficult would you say?