Conversion for centre pull brakes?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Evil Rabbit

I fancy fitting a set of Avid Shorty Ultimate cantilever brakes on my On-One Pompi steel frame cyclo-cross bike. However, at the moment it has v-brakes on and no centre-pull boss to guide the cable ?

Whats the best thing to do? Can I buy the cable guides - how do they fit, weld ?

jesse_anthony_jamis_supernova_brake_profile_600.jpg

I'm no expert but I think you can get cable hangers that attach to your stem and seat post so no welding would be required I think I saw them on SJS cycles.

Edit: these are the ones.

PpPete

Legendary Member
SJS are definitely the best for that sort of thing.

But why those brakes in particular ?
They are expensive - and don't look to me to be as effective as proper wide Cyclo-Cross cantis.
By "wide" I mean what used to be called "Froggleg" style.

Usual recomendation is http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=34583
These look nice too http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=62357

Both use regular V brake pads.

I have an older generation of that style of brake (which uses smooth post style cantilever pads - so slightly less easy to adjust) on my tourer. With Kool-Stop Dual-Compound pads they are extraordinarily effective.

John the Monkey

Frivolous Cyclist
If the pompino has a drilled fork crown, you can also use one of these;

http://www.dotbike.com/p/6181 (crown mounted brake hanger) - less prone to judder, and better cable routing (ime) than stem/spacer mounted hangers.

Don't forget, YOU NEED TO CHANGE YOUR LEVERS. Unless you have "Mini V" brakes (arm lengths between 85 & 95mm) the levers you have on your bike are designed for V brakes (assuming the spec on On One's website is right, they're Dia Compe 287V, which will not work well with other sorts of brake).