Crashed on a xc ride today.how did that happen?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Rode along a old railway line today ,Whitby to Ravenscar and back .
On the way back the front plastic mudguard (I do not know the make ,my local bike shop fit them) ended up bending in between the guard and the tyre throwing me over the bars !!.
I pulled everything back out re set my brake levers and of we went.
I am new to cycling (new giant cc cross bike last week ) and this has shook me a bit.
My feet catch the guard/wheels wheel the wheel is on an angle so i do not know if I have "toed " them on to the tyres and they have jammed up? There was nothing jamming inside the rim ,debris rock twigs etc ,the guard was bent up inside its self.
Not knowing why this happened has worried me slightly for my commutes this week.I climb and drop down some steep roads and i am concerned this might happen at speed .(Luckily I was only going slow today).
Any thought would be very much appreciated.

Ride

Not certain. Did you get the correct size bike? What size is it and how tall are you? If you are frequently toeing the front wheel then I'd say its either the size of the bike or your position, maybe. Maybe you have extra long feet and you should get shorter crank arms. What size are your feet? How long are the crank arms?

Perhaps someone with more experience should chime in.

Ride

andrew_s

Legendary Member
It's usually something catching between the tyre and mudguard that causes this sort of thing. The fact that it wasn't still there afterwards doesn't mean much.
The usual solution is to have the mudguard stays attached to the fork using break-away fittings - eg SKS Secu Clips.That way, when something does catch, the mudguard comes loose rather than getting dragged onto the tyre and then carried up into the fork crown. It is also better to have the stays attached higher up the fork blades, but fittings in the appropriate place are uncommon.