Cycle Training

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
My 14 yearold son has decide that at long last he would like to learn how to ride a bike. I tried teaching him myself a couple of years ago but he wasn't really interested enough to learn. Plus he didn't appreciate my language! Doe's anybody know how I could find an independent instructor who could get him started? I have been on the CTC website but can't find anything for a complete beginner. Any help would be gratefully received.

Rebel Ian

My eldest lad didn't learn until he was almost 11. Both he and his sister (5 at the time) both "got it" on the same evening and managed to ride across the park. The problem with learning as a 14 year old is you don't want to be seen in public places learning. I don't suppose that's "cool".

I found that part of the battle was, as you said, getting them interested to learn. If he's now interested maybe you should try again yourself rather than using an independent person?

OP
OP
cragster

cragster

Regular
Thanks for the reply and it is true that he doesn't want to seem uncool, by being seen learning in front of his buddies. He has said that he would rather be taught by somebody else, other than his 'owd feller' so that is the route I am going down. Kids aren't half awkward :angry:

ttcycle

Cycling Excusiast
You could try ringing CTC head office and speak to a man called Greg who deals with cycling instructors, he may be able to point you in the right direction. There is also the CTUK website that may have info.

Good luck!

Arch

Married to Night Train
Thanks for the reply and it is true that he doesn't want to seem uncool, by being seen learning in front of his buddies. He has said that he would rather be taught by somebody else, other than his 'owd feller' so that is the route I am going down. Kids aren't half awkward :angry: