Cycleops or Elite: which turbo trainer for winter?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

eml1909

I'm fairly new to cycling, but I'm already loving it!:rolleyes:

Although I enjoy riding at the weekends (in addition to my daily commute), I can see that it won't be too long before I will not want to go out in the cold and ice :angry:

So I'm looking to buy a turbo trainer. I have no particular type of training in mind - I'm not training for any specific event; I just want to use it to stay fit and lose some weight.

My general strategy when buying equipment is to aim somewhere between "entry level" and "professional".

I've read good reviews about the Elite Crono Fluid Trainer: http://www.wiggle.co.uk/elite-crono...ium=affiliates&utm_campaign=www.cyclechat.net

But is it worth spending a bit more and buying the CycleOps Fluid 2: http://www.wiggle.co.uk/cycleops-classic-fluid-2-turbo-trainer-with-dvd/

Any advice or thoughts would be much appreciated!

(PS I am also planning on buying a spare wheel / 11-speed cassette and a training tyre, to use on the trainer)

OP
OP
eml1909

eml1909

And, for what it's worth, the CycleOps is available on Amazon for £200.

http://www.amazon.co...l/dp/B000BT7HWY

That said, Wiggle are currently offering £15 off any order over £100, so the price of the Elite will only be £125.

The money is, however, only one consideration. I'm more than happy to pay a bit more for the CycleOps if there is a benefit to having that one over the Elite, but at the moment I'm struggling to see any real difference....

The one difference I have noticed is that the Elite is not adjustable whereas the CycleOps has 4 different settings. However, (1) I can use my gears to change the resistance settings and (2) you have to get off the bike to adjust the resistance settings on the CycleOps - realistically, will I ever be bothered to do this? I'm not so sure...!

martint235

Dog on a bike