Dalby

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

pauldavid

Veteran
Hello all,

Can someone give me a little advice please.

Is is possible/advisable to ride the red route at Dalby on hardtail mtb's?

I went to Dalby with my son at the weekend as he wants to try a little mtb riding on trails. We did the blue route in the pouring rain and both loved it (I've never done any off road riding either before this) and he now wants to go back for the full day to do the red route.

The reason for my question is that everyone we saw there seemed to be on high end full suspension bikes and I am worried that our hardtails may not be up to the job.

Our current bikes are a Btwin Rockrider 5.3 (me) and a Trek 3500 (the lad)

Hoping that someone can tell me if we take our time and watch what we're doing we'll be fine before I promise hime we can go back!

You'll be fine - 3 of us did the Red on 3 different hardtails a few weeks back, and a friend has done it on a rigid single speed lol

RedRider

Pulling through
Yes, we hired hardtails for my mate's stag do a couple of years ago and did the red route. It was fine. We did get into trouble later that night but it had nothing to do with bikes and everything to do with alcohol.

Whats it like in the rain BTW I fancy getting up there myself in next few days but its predicted rain..... I dont mind rain but some routes can be a little blathery?

OP
OP
P

pauldavid

Veteran
If your going in the rain, I'd take a change of clothes.

We didn't and we were in such a mess I had to create makeshift seat covers from the dust sheets I normally use for the bikes when they are in my boot.

Good fun though.

Cubist

Still wavin'