don't wanna be road kill...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Cosmick1

Hello all,

I'm a newbie to this forum and my biking is limited to my 15 mile per day commuting. The last mile of this is on an open, maximum speed limit hill where the road narrows in it's approach to my village. I share the road with rabbit-running (avoiding delays on a local bypass) car drivers and worse - gravel lorries running in and out of local gravel pits.
The road is unlit and is fed by the bypass so drivers are still in drive fast mode.
My bike is well lit with LEDs but the problem is with the lorries in particular not slowing down/not going wide and hurtling by literally inches from my handlebars :sad:.
Does anyone know of an extendable led light that I can fit to my rack and extend out sideways into the road from my bike - this may coach the uckers ;) into giving due care? Or any other ideas?
I am starting a campaign to extend a cycle path up this road into the village. Also taking note of signage on the lorries to give the companies a call and ask for better driving? :biggrin:

Many thanks

jeltz

Veteran
Are you in primary road position i.e. well into the road or are you hugging the left hand gutter?

If you take primary position vehicles don't have the space to "squeeze" past and have to wait for an appropriate passing place, also if they do try to then you have some space to your left to escape into.

Oh and
MG_124.gif

OP
OP
C

Cosmick1

Taking the lane

Being further out in the lane would cause most to slow down and would give me more manoeuvering room. Trouble is after half a century of driving cars, I know there are car driving moments when you think " **it, I cannot remember driving the last couple of miles..". With a gravel lorry coming from behind at 60mph and the driver's mind not present would I rather be kerb hugging or the middle of the lane?