Dropping fat.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

PaulSecteur

No longer a Specialized fanboy
Hi

Quick question for those in the know...

With regards to burning fat which would be better, a long but slowish ride if about 15-20 (about 3+ hours?) miles at a pace where im working but could keep a conversation going, or a 6 miler pushing on where the lungs are really working?

Or alternating methods each ride or as time allowed?

Rohloff_Brompton_Rider

Formerly just_fixed
hr in 70 to 80% mhr. anytime spent in this zone above 20 mins starts to burn fat. the longer you spend in this zone the more fat will be burnt, or so the experts say. go above 80% and you go into the anaerobic zones. as a guide, if you are just out of breath and can just keep up a conversation your in the right zone. well this is how i understood all the info on the net, i am not an expert tho.

jimboalee

Theory and clinical trials say "Each individual is different", but only by a small amount.

At 50% HR, fat burn will be roughly 50% and carb burn 50%.
At MHR, fat burn will be 0%.

I use a linear characteristic between these points.

The underlying point is… if there is enough carb in the body, it will be used. Deplete the carb and the body switches to fat.

On the other hand, to conserve carbs, exercising at 75% HR is a lot easier that 90% HR, so the body conserves carbs and uses fat.
When the intensity rises and the HR goes to 90%, the conserved carbs are used in preference to fat because they are easier to assimilate and transport.

If 'fat burning' is your goal, keeping the body fuelled with energy drink, cakes etc will NOT help. You have to border on 'starvation' at a low intensity to shift fat quick.

For a 5 hour 100km slow Audax, my calcs tell me I will be burning nearly 4500 kcals for the whole ride. My fat burn at approx 140 watts pedalling is approx 36%.
I will eat 1000 extra calories for the ride.