Edinburgh Bike's cycle maintenance course.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

PaulB

Legendary Member
Went on this on Saturday and have to say I was very pleased with it and thought it taught me a lot.

I've been riding for about four years now and have picked up a fair amount of knowledge through trial and error, magazine articles and websites such as this so wasn't a total novice but we were learning stuff at every stage.

The day was appaling, weather-wise so we weren't missing much by being inside all day, and it is an all-day course. They run them once a month on both the Saturday and Sunday and it costs (I think) £45. For that, you take your own bike in and do a whole service yourself under expert tuition with top quality tools so in effect, even if you learn nowt (unlikely for the majority), you'll get a serviced, safe bike back!

It covers everything from the absolute basics such as puncture repair, right up to wheel trueing, hub maintenance, headseta checking and adjustment, bottom bracket checking and adjustment, crank removal and re-fitting brake and gear adjustments, the lot. The amazing thing is that all four of us on the course (4-5 being the ideal class size) were learning tips even on the basics such as puncture repairs which we all thought we knew everything about.

All in all, it was well worthwhile and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Sh4rkyBloke

Jaffa Cake monster
Went on it myself yesterday in Manchester. 5 people in total (1 left at dinner due to a double booking) so not too many to actually get the mechanic's attention when required.

Had a nice mix of bikes - 1 x MTB with Disk brakes, 1 x older model Bianchi tourer, 2 x Spesh Allez Elite (1 used daily, the other only having done 20 miles in 2 months) and 1 x hybrid - so got to see a few different types of fittings and listen to answers about different components etc.