Feedback required on trailer bikes/Trail-Gator for University project

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

GeorgeS

Regular
Hi everyone,

I'm a student at Loughborough University in my final year of a product design degree; as part of this I must redesign an existing product or invent something completely new. I have decided to focus on Trailer Bikes and, in particular, improving the tow bar concept used by the Trail-Gator.

I like the fact that the Trail-Gator adds flexibility and allows the child to have freedom, as well giving them the option to be hooked on when tired. Has anyone had any particularly bad experiences with this product?

I've heard and read that they can be really awkward to fit; is there a particular aspect of the design that is most troublesome?

I have managed to get my hands on a second hand Trail-Gator and, having looked closely at it, feel that it actually appears quite cheap - anyone agree? Has anyone had any concerns over the quality of it when in use?

If you have any further input unrelated to the questions above then I would be hugely grateful! Looking for ways of improving what is already on the market...

There is a remarkably well made German product which achieves the same thing as the (yes you are right, it's cheap and nasty) Trailgator - I'll see if I can track it down...

In the meantime there is this:
Streamliner_gruen_2010_1120x560_01.png

Shame that their website isn't as good as their bikes - it converts into a bicycle, not the sort of operation that you'd do during a ride but interesting..

OP
OP
G

GeorgeS

Regular
Thanks again mickle!

If you know of anyone else who might have had some interesting experiences with products like that Trail-Gator then could you please get them to be in touch. Very grateful for the help already

OP
OP
G

GeorgeS

Regular
If people have some answers to any of the following questions that would be great!