Folding bike brakes issues

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

tiras25

Hi guys,

I wonder if you help to point me to the right direction. I'm new to the folding bikes. Just got a used Captain Stag (any info on it). All good, the only issue are brakes. I have to start braking a mile prior to stop :smile:

The front brakes are too flimsy - bad design. They aren't connected to the fork and bends when braking. Not sure how to fix that.

The rear drums are better but very squeaky. Any way to fix that?

Any advice or point to specialized bicycle forum appreciated.

Thanks!

welsh dragon

Thanks but no thanks. I think I'll pass.
Can't offer any help re the brakes, but welcome to CC. Hope you enjoy it here :welcome:. Someone will be along soon i'm sure who will be able to help you.

sreten

Hi,

No experience of rear drum brakes. However front on a folder I used to have
I fitted heavy duty nylon tie-wraps, around the fork and into the gap above*
the brake blocks of the caliper brakes. Though it sort of looked like it wouldn't
work very well, when not moving, it was in practice a major improvement,
in the absolute braking and more the progressiveness of the front braking.

Make sure of course the front brake axial tension is set right,
many are too loose causing the problem in the first place.

rgds, sreten.

* Or below, if that is easier, above is better as
it can't disturb the brake blocks, below it can.

Sheldon Brown regarding the rear brake.

Last edited:

Poacher

Gravitationally challenged member
Hi @tiras25, and :welcome: