Gear cable clamps (vintage)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

rorytymon

Regular
Hi there I'm new to cycling and decided to buy an old beat up bike not long ago and have fun restoring it. I'm in the process of removing all the parts and have found the gear cable clamps (outside mounted) have two cables per clamp - pictures attached.

Does anyone know where I can get hold of some replacements for these as I'll have to break one of them due to it not having a screw.

Many thanks, Rory.

P.S. What colour should I paint the frame, grip tape colours shown for judgment :smile:

Attachments

• IMG_20200529_112836.jpg
    IMG_20200529_112836.jpg
    99 KB · Views: 6
  • IMG_20200529_112832.jpg
    IMG_20200529_112832.jpg
    143.2 KB · Views: 8
  • IMG_20200529_112827.jpg
    IMG_20200529_112827.jpg
    146.3 KB · Views: 8
  • 15907491411561080617054359655467.jpg
    15907491411561080617054359655467.jpg
    217.8 KB · Views: 7

midlife

Guru
Welcome :smile:. Not sure what you mean? The whole of the inner cable / outer needs ditching and moving over to bare cables, not sure why the previous owner did that.

As for colour that's a personal choice :smile:

OP
OP
R

rorytymon

Regular
Welcome :smile:. Not sure what you mean? The whole of the inner cable / outer needs ditching and moving over to bare cables, not sure why the previous owner did that.

As for colour that's a personal choice :smile:
Thanks for the reply. The gear cables are outer ones I was asking about the clamps that hold them down, not sure of they have a proper name or not

carpenter

Über Member
Hi,
Welcome to the forum.

I am not sure why the cable outers (and they look quite expensive ones) run the whole length of the tube from the levers - can you take a picture of the bottom bracket end of the fame looking from above (like these):

If you have "braze on" cable guides (first image) really easy and no need for cable outer all the way down from the levers, just bare wire.