Greetings From Ashton-U-Lyne

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

squeeze321

Regular
Hi,
I am new to cycling and I do not own a bike at the moment but looking to purchase one within the next few months. I am still undecided wether to go for a mountain, hybrid or folding bike! Wow, how bikes have changed over the years!

Not looking forward to traffic, oh no staying well away from roads as much as possible as there are too many lunatic drivers out there who are just crazy and I think nerves of steel are what Cyclists need to survive on roads today.

There are a few cycle paths round here too, plenty of canals as well as country parks, so I seem to be living in a pretty good place for cycling, or so I presume. I am very curious to know if other people also feel the same.

Shaun

Founder
Hello, welcome to CC. :thumbsup:

Ask away for bike advice, you'll get plenty of pointers, and you might be surprised how quickly you get used to roads / traffic once you've given it a go - but then I suppose that depends on where you are and how fast / busy the roads are, especially if you've not riden on the road in a long time - it might take a little while to build up your confidence.

Bikes have definitely changed and you'll hopefully end up with a comfy, easy-to-use bike that you enjoy riding and you'll soon be looking for n+1

Good luck. ^_^

Cheers,
Shaun :biggrin:

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
Welcome to the forum Squeeze :hello:

Ashton is a great place to cycle and the roads are not too bad at all, 98% of drivers are courteous and considerate.

'What bike?' is a perrenial question that has no definite answer. Choose the best you can afford that is comfortable, fits you well and is suitable for the intended use. The only condition I would add is don't get a bike with suspension, they are just rubbish and hard work.

Good luck and hopefully I will see you around the area :thumbsup:

OP
OP
squeeze321

squeeze321

Regular
Hello everyone :smile: