Greetings from Northampton

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Amheirchion

Hello, I'm new here, obviously. I found this site through a post on bikeforums and thought I'd come over and see what was what.

I'm a student studying Conservation and Land Management on my final year of a BSc. I recently moved to Northampton for the course, and will be moving into my new flat at the weekend, I can't wait, it even has a brick shed perfect for mine and my ladies bikes.

Not really a lot to say, so I'll leave off as I started with a hello.

Midnight

Hi Amheirchion, and Welcome to the forum :hello:

I'm just doing some research in to early cycling history in Northampton, especially racing on the old race course during the 1880's and W Grose - founder of the car dealership - who was a professional rider during the Penny Farthing era.

ThePainInSpain

I'm just doing some research in to early cycling history in Northampton, especially racing on the old race course during the 1880's and W Grose - founder of the car dealership - who was a professional rider during the Penny Farthing era.

My late father was a member of the Irchester Wheelers in the 1930's. Not only did they do road racing, but also took part in local carnivals on 'funny bikes' and Penny Farthings.

OP
OP
Amheirchion

Amheirchion

Cheers for the welcomes.
Hilldodger, any idea if the race course you refer to is the one that's is now the park by the central University campus? Bit of a random question I guess, but I'd been wondering about the name of the park, I'd guess it was a horse race track from looking at it, but not fully sure. Maybe tomorrow I'll take a ride over and actually read one of the information signs.

darkstar