Hello from Birmningham

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

jdtate101

Ex-Fatman
Hi all,

New member here, so saying hello.

I like many others here have recently got back into cycling after many years absence. I'm an IT professional and spend far too much time at a desk on my arse, so my middle had expanded over the years and now at the age of 36 I was 18.5 stone and feeling crap. It all came to a head one day where I took my kids to the park and a small kick around and I was a wheezing mess. It was then and there I decided to get off my fat arse and do something about it.
I cannot stand gyms and whenever i've tried to stick to a routine I just end up bored to death and give up. Gyms for me are soul destroying places.
Anyway, cycling was something I did a lot of when I was a kid, so I thought what the hell. Started off on a rubbish old MTB and lost 1/2 a stone pretty fast. After that I caught the bug big time, and invested in a road bike (Boardman Race). I'm averaging about 130 miles per week now, and have just gone through 1000 miles total so far. I'm also down to 15 1/4 stone now. Ideally I would like to get to 13st, as I'm 6'1" and this would seem to be a healthy weight for my frame.
Currently saving pennies for a full carbon racer in the new year.

Challenges done so far this yr : 1st 100 mile ride from Birmingham to Bristol (6hrs 25mins total)

Upcoming challenges: Tour Of Britain Challenge stage (Stoke) 80Km.
Dragon Ride 2012

Anyway, that's me.

James

machew

Veteran
More important than north or south, bluenose or villain?

BrumJim

Forum Stalwart (won't take the hint and leave...)
Great to hear the story. Seems a lot of people on here have found health, fitness and weight loss through two wheels.