Hello from Kent

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

SJCH

Hi all,
I've been commuting a 15 mile round trip 5 days a week for the past 16 months. However there is a hill which I still struggle up even now, so the saying "it will get easier in time" just doesn't cut it with me (although it is fun on the journey home). Someone suggested going for a longer ride at the weekends to build up stamina, not sure about that as I use the weekends as rest days.

For the first 3 months I slogged along on my old MTB until moving on to a road bike on the Cycle to Work scheme - wow what a difference, slicing 10 minutes off my journey with less effort (apart from the hill). Since commuting I've lost over 2 stone and still eat pretty much what I want, feel the fittest I've ever been and full of energy plus I'm saving over £100 a week on train fare - suddenly that hill sounds like a good trade-off.

Attached (hopefully) is an elevation graph showing my morning commute - measurements in miles and feet.
SJCH
elevation_graph.png

Beebo

Firm and Fruity
what's your route, can you avoid the hill?

I have a big hill on my commute too, they say about hills "it never gets easier, you just get quicker",

OP
OP
S

SJCH

My route starts in Tonbridge, passing through Hildenborough on the B245 London Road and on to RiverHill (the hill in question) before finishing in central Sevenoaks. Pretty much an incline for 3/4 of the journey, mind you, I'd rather do it in the morning than after work!

There's no avoiding the hill as its part of the North Downs/ Weald of Kent. Sevenoaks sits just over the top and Tonbridge lies in a valley this side of it. Riverhill is probably the easiest route as there are some real monsters if you're feeling brave!!

ianrauk

Tattooed Beat Messiah
Know the hill well and it's a complete and utter bugger doing it every now and then. For a commute? Not on your nelly. For those that don't know it, it's near 5 miles of climbing with 3 15% peaks,